Meade 12 European countries urged to immediately introduce visa-free regime with Georgia and Ukraine

МИД 12 стран Европы призвали немедленно ввести безвизовый режим с Грузией и Украиной

The foreign Ministers of Nordic, Baltic and Visegrad group on the two-day meeting in Jurmala, Latvia has expressed the need to immediately grant visa-free entry to EU citizens of Georgia and Ukraine. The corresponding opinion was voiced by the Latvian foreign Ministry, reports “TASS”.

“The Ministers noted the need to immediately grant visa-free travel Georgia and Ukraine”, – said the Latvian foreign Ministry.

The foreign Ministers also confirmed their readiness to support the implementation of the Association agreements with the EU Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, as well as to develop cooperation with other countries, the statement said.

In the meeting of Ministers of foreign Affairs attended the foreign Ministers of 12 countries – Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Finland, Sweden, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland and Hungary.

The meeting was devoted to the issues of security, energy cooperation, the subject of the Eastern partnership and other European problems.

Related news: Ukraine received 137 of the laws and regulations to liberalize the visa regime with the EU, – Zubko

We will remind, on 20 April the European Commission invited the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union to cancel visas for Ukrainian citizens. The President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko expects EU to grant visa-free regime for Ukrainians after a few months.

Once the proposal is accepted by the European Parliament and the Council, the citizens of Ukraine with biometric passports can travel without visas for up to 90 days in the Schengen area. Visa-free regime will apply to all member States of the EU except Ireland and the UK, as well as four associated countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). The abolition of visas does not automatically grant the right to work in the EU.

Recall, the Commission in December 2015, confirmed that Ukraine has successfully fulfilled all benchmarks under the action Plan on visa liberalization.

According to the Minister of foreign Affairs Pavlo Klimkin, Ukraine may get visa-free regime with the EU in the summer / fall of 2016.