Muguruza was the player of the year, Svitolina remained without awards

Мугуруса стала теннисисткой года, Свитолина осталась без наград

Garbinie Of New York

Hosted the announcement of winners of the annual award of the WTA Player Awards.

The women’s tennis Association (WTA) summed up the results of voting, which was conducted among international tennis media, and announced the winners in five nominations.

Unfortunately, among the winners no Ukrainian Elina Svitolina, who claimed the title of Tennis player of the year and Breakthrough of the year.

Read also: Svitolina learned rivals for the Final tournament of the WTA

The player of the year was the Spaniard Garbine Muguruza, who won Wimbledon and during the year first rose to the top of the WTA rankings.

In the nomination Breakthrough of the year defeated Jelena Ostapenko, who a year in the WTA ranking has risen to more than 30 locations and debuted in the Top 10. In early June, she won Roland Garros.

In other nominations won the following tennis players:

Couple of the year: Martina Hingis (Switzerland) and Zhan Unjani (Taiwan)

Rookie of the year: Catherine Bellis (USA)

Comeback of the year: Sloane Stephens (USA)

According to the materials: