Poroshenko renamed assault troops

Порошенко переименовал десантные войска

Petro Poroshenko presents the new berets of the paratroopers

The President said that the legendary airborne brotherhood was shot by the Russians in the Donbas.

Today, 21 November, high-mobile landing troops of Ukraine changed the name. Now they are called Airborne forces of the Armed forces of Ukraine. This was stated by President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko, reports channel 5.

“As President and Supreme commander decided to change the name of the highly mobile airborne troops, to depart from the Soviet-Russian abbreviation of the airborne forces. Russian “VDV” in the summer of 2014 are directly involved in the occupation of Ukrainian Donbas, and Crimea” little green men “- they, too. So, I decide to enter a new name – the Airborne assault troops of the Armed forces of Ukraine. It is, in the end, more in line with the purposes and functions of this kind of troops in modern operations”, – said the President.

Also the paratroopers of the APU was replaced by blue berets hats maroon.

“Who of us does not understand that the legendary landing brotherhood, symbols of which were considered blue beret and vest, was shot by Russian zagami under the Slavonic in the Donetsk airport, near Ilovaysk, near Debaltsevo… From today my decision the color of the Ukrainian troops turns into dark red. The color of the blood the Marines shed at the battle for Ukraine”, – said Poroshenko.

The President added that the maroon berets to identify their paratroopers used 59 countries, 19 of which are countries-members of NATO.

“So we introduce another standard of the Alliance, membership in which I was determined to bring the Ukraine. Order the Lieutenant-General Zabrodsky to hold a ceremony of replacement of berets soldiers-paratroopers,” – said Poroshenko.

As reported Корреспондент.netat the end of October it became known that the Ukrainian paratroopers abandoned the blue berets. Now only six countries in the world use for their airborne divisions blue – Russia, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Armenia and Belarus.

Poroshenko: ATO killed 469 paratroopers Ukraine