“The Nobel prize” for physics was given for gravitational waves

"Нобеля" по физике дали за гравитационные волны

Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish, and Kip Thorne

Einstein’s theory confirmed experiment LIGO collaboration.

The Nobel prize in physics for 2017 was awarded to Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish, and Pile thorn – creators of the international collaboration LIGO, which first caught the gravitational waves predicted by scientist albert Einstein 100 bodies ago. This was announced at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

On experimental confirmation of Einstein’s theory on gravitational waves announced in February last year, although the opening took place in September 2015.

This used Laser-interferometric gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO). With the aid of laser measured the length of the four-kilometer-long tunnels, which were decreased and increased under the influence of gravitational waves.

Gravitational waves or ripples in space-time – fluctuations of the gravitational field, which occur due to the movement of massive objects. According to Einstein’s theory, these waves travel at the speed of light.

In the past year, LIGO has stated that the discovery of gravitational waves aviateca turning discovery that will pave the way for a new phase of space exploration.

Catch a wave was formed as a result of the collision of two massive black holes, located at a distance of 1.3 billion light years from Earth.

They can listen:

Then the Guardian newspaper suggested, for the discovery of gravitational waves will probably awarded the Nobel prize.

The most likely contenders for a Nobel prize in this field was also considered to Mitchell Feigenbaum for his discoveries in the field of nonlinear and chaotic systems, Russian astrophysicist Rashid Sunyaev for his deep contribution to the understanding of the Universe and Faedon, Averis, Paul McEwen and Cornelis Dekker, who made a significant contribution to studies of carbon nanotubes, graphene, graphene and their use in electronics.

In 2016 the Nobel prize were scientists James Taules from the University of Washington, Frederick, Haldane of Princeton and John Kosterlitz of brown University, who made a significant contribution to the development of the science of topological phase transitions.

Nobel prize

The Nobel prize in medicine was given for research on biological clock

Bob Dylan wrote his Nobel lecture

The plot ofthe Nobel prize-2015: portraits of the winners

“Nobel” in Economics presented for the analysis of poverty

Nobel peace prize was given for the democratization of Tunisia