Three EU countries did not vote against Russia

Три страны ЕС не голосовали против России

France, Italy and Greece did not vote against Russia

The majority of deputies from France, Greece and Italy did not support the resolution on countering Russian propaganda.

For the European Parliament resolution on countering Russian media voted the majority of deputies from France, Italy and Greece.

On 23 November the European Parliament voted for the adoption of the resolution on countering Russian media. 691 vote deputies supported the document 304 people, 179, and 208 parliamentarians abstained.

This is evidenced by the analysis of the election conducted by Votewatch Europe.

The analysis showed clear differences within political groups of the European Parliament, in particular among liberals (ALDE) and the greens (Greens/EFA), and also among social-Democrats (S&D).

Many MPs voted on a national basis, and not according to the decision of the parliamentary groups of the 69 Italian MPs only 8 supported the resolution, and this figure is even lower for France (only 3 of the MEP “for”) and Greece (any Greek MEP did not vote “for”).

Три страны ЕС не голосовали против России



On the other hand, the countries of Central and Eastern Europe, as well as the Germans, the Belgians and the Dutch are in the majority supported the resolution.

It is noteworthy that the critical-EU parties such as the Conservative party of great Britain, the Polish “Law and justice” and the Hungarian Fidesz, endorsed the struggle against the anti-European propaganda

While Pro-European parties such as the Italian Democratic party (Prime Minister Matteo Renzi) and the French socialist party (President Francois Hollande), did not support the document.

The analysis also showed that, there was a split in German coalition, while the Christian democratic Union of Angela Merkel has been a key supporter of the resolution, the SPD did not approve of her.

Earlier, the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution on Crimea.

According to the materials:

True European