Ukraine is close to free travel to Europe – EU Commissioner

Украина близка к свободным путешествиям по Европе, - еврокомиссар

Soon Ukrainians will be able freely to travel to Europe, because Ukraine has fulfilled all the conditions for visa-free regime. This was stated by the Commissioner for migration, home Affairs and citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos during his meeting with the Minister of internal Affairs of Ukraine Arsen Avakov, the press service of the interior Ministry.

“You should feel happy representatives of this generation, which carries out all these social and political changes. In this process, you are not alone. These efforts you make, are of the utmost importance. You have achieved great results, and I think we are near that day when Ukrainians will be able freely to travel around Europe. As far as I understand, Ukrainian citizens waiting for this moment,” said Dimitris Avramopoulos.

He also stressed that he will ask the Director of Interpol to visit Ukraine.

“It will also have a special Communicator from Europol. We will be able not only to work together to combat organized crime and terrorism, and exchange information by establishing trust,” said the Commissioner.

Note that the meeting was also attended by ex-Avakov’s Deputy Eka Zguladze.

Earlier the Minister of internal Affairs of Ukraine Arsen Avakov said that his Ministry had fulfilled all the conditions necessary for Ukraine’s visa-free regime with the European Union.

On 20 April the European Commission invited the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union to cancel visas for Ukrainian citizens. Poroshenko expects EU to grant visa-free regime for Ukrainians after a few months.

Related news: the European Parliament will consider a visa-free regime with Ukraine at the end of may – source

Once the proposal is accepted by the European Parliament and the Council, the citizens of Ukraine with biometric passports can travel without visas for up to 90 days in the Schengen area. Visa-free regime will apply to all member States of the EU except Ireland and the UK, as well as four associated countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). The abolition of visas does not provide for automatic granting of the right to work in the EU.